Author Interview: “Echoes” by S.P. Blackmore

I haven’t read S.P. Blackmore’s Echoes but did scroll through the preview on Amazon. I like how the dialogue is written. It’s real, and helps me get into the story really fast. Here is an interview with S.P. Blackmore which I think you’ll find very enticing.

Thomas D. Taylor

1.) Author’s name:

S.P. Blackmore

2.) Most recent novel:

Echoes

3.) Genre:

Sci-fi adventure

4.) What’s the approximate page count and word count?

52,000 words – page count depends on the size of the text; I think about 120 pages on a standard Kindle.

5.) Is this part of a series?

No.

6.) If this is part of a series, how many books in the series so far and how many more in the series do you plan to write?

I may eventually write other stories set in this universe, but nothing at the moment.

7.) Give us a brief summary of the novel.

Galen Beckett has served the Agency for as long as he can remember, traveling from world to world acquiring intelligence, capturing criminals, and protecting the highest bidder. He’s looking forward to well-earned time off when he’s tapped for a new assignment—to assist an ailing agent protecting an exiled queen, whose royal husband has slapped a price on her head high enough to attract every bounty hunter and assassin in the known universe.

When he meets Agent Kate Hawkins on the queen’s ship, Galen is convinced they know each other. His efforts to uncover the truth are hindered by his own fragmented memory—and the realization that he is running out of time. As a barrage of hired guns pursues them across the galaxy, Kate weakens further, and Galen must piece together a mystery a thousand years in the making.

8.) What motivated you to write this book?

Echoes actually started out as a freewriting assignment about nightingales; I had just finished a big project and wanted to get the wheels turning again, and I wanted to get back into space opera. I had no idea who the character was at that point, or where it took place. When I finished what is now the prologue, I realized I might have a pretty good tale in the making, so I sat down and tried to figure out how to combine nightingales and spaceships…that was a headache. 

I was further inspired by two recent (as of 2011) news reports; one about immortality and how we could possibly attain it, and the other about the possible threat wireless signals pose to our health. The wireless article got me thinking about sci-fi technology in particular—lightspeed, for instance, is prevalent in science fiction literature, but it never seems to have any impact on humans at all. Maybe it’s not harmful, but all this sliding/jumping around space and time should at least have some sort of effect on the body/mind.

I also wanted to write about friendship, and how it endures through difficult situations–and sometimes centuries. That was important to me. Most of my stories have sort of subconsciously explored friendship, but this time I made it a priority.

9.) What are some of the major themes that are explored in this book?

The power of memory. Friendship. The impact of technology on our lives. How little political spats can lead to Very Big Problems.

10.) What is your opinion about the genre in general?

I love it! I prefer space opera to “hard” science fiction, but the entire genre is just so full of possibilities. You can literally go anywhere with it. I read as much of it as I can, and I’m excited by the new wave of indie and self-published writers. They’re breathing new life into the genre.

11.) What do you think makes your book something that other people will like to read?

It’s got some memorable main characters who explore past lives while on the run–with a sci-fi twist.

12.) Anything else you’d like to add?

Thanks for the interview, Thomas!

Leave a Reply

