Idle No More: A White Man Prays

It has been a long time since I’ve written “Idle No More: A White Man Speaks.” Although we have seen understanding bud and blossom within the minds of the ignorant, and though many more people than ever have come together to speak and protest against injustice, in some respects, things have gotten worse and I am very disappointed.

New laws and new legislation are proposed that would continue to take away the rights of indigenous people, harm their lands, and harm the land that we all share. Misunderstandings fester among those with closed ears and minds. Many people have hurting hearts.

Rather than open my mouth and speak more on these points, I am going to kneel before God and remember Him. Were it not for the fact that He gave us the knowledge to create computers and the internet, and were it not for the fact that He gave me the knowledge to use these things, I would never have been able to speak in the ways which I have spoken, and so many people who have heard me may not have heard me at all.

Were it not for the fact that He gave all of us voices, we could not speak in the ways we have spoken, and no one would have heard.

I am going to thank God for what He has given me and all of us. I am going to ask Him to open my mind so I can understand Him and His plans better. I am going to ask Him to teach me those things which He wants me to know. I am going to ask that He hear the prayers of those who respectfully pray to Him, and more.

If you are so inclined, please join me in praying to God, whether you call this God “God” or “Creator” or “Great Spirit” and when you are done praying with me, add to my prayer those things which you feel are important for God to know. And please feel free to remove anything from this prayer which you feel may give offense to the God you believe in.

God in Heaven,
 
It is with humility and respect that I open my heart to You and pray to You now.
 
I thank You for creating me in Your mind’s eye. 
I thank You for giving me life.
I thank You for giving me this Earth to live on.
I thank You for all that You have given me.
 
I thank You for keeping things from me that You do not think I should have, or that I am too irresponsible to manage.
 
I thank You for being my parent.
I thank You for allowing me to be your child.
I thank You for Your guardianship.
I thank You for Your unconditional love.
 
I pray that you soften my heart so that my love for You and for my fellow men grows to be more like Your love for all of us.
 
I thank You for listening to all my prayers.
I thank You for hearing all my prayers.
I thank You for answering them all.
I thank You for teaching me that “no” is an answer.
 
I thank You for teaching me that no answer now doesn’t mean there will never be an answer later.
 
I ask that You open my mind.
I ask that You take out my sinful thoughts and put innocence in its place.
I ask that You remove ignorance from my mind and replace it with what you want me to know.
I ask that You help me to see what You want me to see and hear what You want me to hear.
 
I ask that You cleanse my soul of sins and lift my spirit with Your own.
 
I ask that you do these things for all those who are equally willing, and that You hear their thoughts and prayers if You are so inclined.
 
I pray for all of those who are suffering at the hands of men.
I pray for all of those who are suffering under the oppression of evil.
I pray for all of those who do evil, so that they may see the errors of their ways.
I pray for the evil ones themselves, so that they may someday be saved by You.
 
On behalf of everyone… 
 
I ask that You watch over our mothers.
I ask that You watch over our fathers.
I ask that You watch over our brothers.
I ask that You watch over our sisters.

I ask that You watch over our grandparents, great grandparents, great great grandparents, and so on down the line.

I ask that You watch over our aunts and uncles.
I ask that You watch over our nieces and nephews.
I ask that You watch over our extended families.
I ask that You watch over our friends, acquaintances, and people I don’t know and whom I will never meet.
 
I ask that You watch over our elders, our community leaders, our elected officials, our appointed officials, and our heads of state.
 
Make us all recognize that we are Your creations.
Teach us, guide us, help us.
Lead us away from sin, from temptation, from evil. 
 
Help us remember that we are all made in Your image.
Help us remember that when we hurt our fellow men and women, it is an affront to You and Your creations.
Help us remember that when we pollute and scar the Earth, and beat and senselessly slaughter animals, and destroy their habitats, that we disrespect You, Your love for us, and Your creations.
Help us remember that when we close our ears to You we deafen ourselves and make ourselves dumb.
 
Help us remember that when we defy You, we defile You.
 
I ask that You hear the prayers of all those who are suffering, and hear the prayers of those who ask for Your help. 
 
I ask that you hear the thanks and praise of all those who offer it, and that You hear my prayer and praise for you today.

Your Will will prevail.

Amen.

Thomas D. Taylor

Leave a Reply

